Home > 108 Divya Desam > Sri Bhoomipalar temple

Sri Bhoomipalar temple

Moolavar : Bhoomipalar
Urchavar : Kaaysinaventhar
Amman / Thayar : Malarmagal Naachiyar, Poomagal Nachiyar, Pulingudivalli
Thala Virutcham : NA
Theertham : Varuna Theertham, Nirudhi Theertham
Agamam / Pooja : NA
Old year : 1000-2000 years old
Historical Name : Tiruppuliangudi
City : Tiruppuliangudi
District : Thoothukudi
State : Tamil Nadu


   Nammalvar Kotuvinaippataikal vallaiyay amararkku itarketa asurarkatkku itarcey Katuvinai nence ennutaiya amuthe kalivayal tiruppulinkutiyay Vativinnaiyilla malarmakal marrainilamakal pitikum mellatiyey Kotuvinaiyenum pitikka nee orunaal koovuthal varuthal ceyaaye. Tiruvaymoli - 9.3.10.


   Vaikunta Ekadasi

Temple's Speciality:

   This is one of the 108 sacred places of Lord Vishnu and the 4th Navathiruppathi dedicated to ?Budhan? or Mercury.

Opening Time:

   The Temple is open from morning 9.00 to 12.00 noon and from 1.00 pm to 6.00 pm.


   Sri Bhoomi Balakar Temple, Tirupuliangudi, Thoothukudi district.


   91 4630 256 476

General Information:

   Lord Bhoomi Balakar blesses the devotees from Sanctum Sanctorum under the Vedachara Vimana, in a reclining posture using a measuring bowl ? Marakkal in Tamil- as a pillow, facing east.


   People visit these Nava Tirupathi temples seeking relief from the adverse aspects of planets, here Mercury-Budha.

Thanks giving:

   Devotees perform holy bath to the Lord and don Him with new dresses as an offering.

Greatness Of Temple:

   Nine Lord Vishnu temples in the region are known as Nava Tirupathis. As Lord Perumal directly represents the respective planet in these temples, there are no Navagraha shrines in these temples. They are in the following order:

Temple History:

   A Lotus stem from the naval of Lord Perumal goes upward and joins the Lotus flower with Brahmma in the wall. Those desiring to have the darshan of the Feet of Lord can have it through a window in the outer prakara. This is the place where Indira relieved himself of his Brahmmahati dosha. This is also the place where a Brahmin Yagna Sharma cursed by the sons of Sage Vasishta to become a demon was released of the evil effect. Lord Perumal granted darshan to Varuna, Nirudhi, Dharmaraja and Nara in this place.

Special Features:

   Miracle Based: Being one among the 108 Divya Desas of Lord Perumal, this is the fourth in the Nava Tirupathi temples belonging to Mercury-Budha.

*Sources from Dinamalar.com

Home        Worship       Gallery      Travel        Slokas     Contact us