The temple timings are from 5.00am to 11.00am and 4.00pm to 8.00pm.

             Pancharamas are the five great shrines of Lord Shiva situated in Andhra Pradesh.Stories regarding their origin are explained in puranas like Shiva Maha purana, Skanda Maha Purana. All these five shrines of Lord Shiva are believed to be originated from a common source that was a large Shiva Linga that was worn by a demon named Tarakasura.

Pancharamas means five Aramas, ie. Five temples. Out of five four are present near Godavari river, and one present near Krishna river.


Location of the PanchRamas Temples:

Pancharamam Temple Name Location
Amararamam Amara Lingeswara swami Amaravathi, Guntur district
Ksheeraramam Ksheera Rama lingeswara swami Palakollu, West Godavari district
Somaramam Someswara swami Bhimavaram, West Godavari district
Draksharamam Bhimeswara swami Draksharamam, East Godavari district
Bhimaramam Kumara Bhimeswara swami Samarlakota, East Godavari disrict

             The five Shivalingams worshipped at these shrines are said to be a part of a single said to have been created by  the Sun God. This original Shivalingam is said to have been held in worship by the seven rishis - Kasyapa, Atri, Gowtama, Kousika, Bharadwaja, Vasishta and Jamadagni. These rishis are believed to be present in the seven tributaries of Godavari, of which the Bharadwaja, Kousika and Jamadagni Godavaris are not in existence anymore. It is believed that the seven rishis brought water into the Godavari river from their points of origin. It is also believed that the waters from the seven tributaries constitute the water sources in the temple tank.   

Home        Worship       Gallery      Travel        Slokas     Contact us